Skip to content

A new day, a new lease on life

August 1, 2009

Today is much better. My hubs and I spent a lot of time talking and reminding ourselves (and each other) why we decided to stay together in the first place. I am feeling good about our commitment to stay the course. I never really intended to cover this in my blog. I originally thought I would be writing about the past, but then, shit happens and here I am. I am reminded that we are complex human beings and that we don’t fit nicely into one box. My life is many things, I play many roles and I am not defined by any single one of them alone. If I allowed myself to be defined in singular terms like that, I would have forever been the victim. One of the things I think that set us (women) apart is our ability to be so many different things to so many different people all at the same time. Anyway, I am wandering, so back to the topic at hand.
We’ve been in counseling and although we haven’t abandoned it all together, the person we chose wasn’t a good fit. We”re back to the drawing board there. I’ve also been thinking about joining a church. We’ve talked about it for years and years, but it’s hard starting when everyone else there is already established. It’s like being the new kid in class, everyone wondering about you and you don’t know who is who. Who are the friendly ones, who are the snobby ones, who are the gossipers? I’m talking myself out of it before I’ve even given it a try.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2009 8:58 am

    it’s very nice post
    Thanks to assists students improving their studies by providing useful articles related to education or others.

  2. August 5, 2009 5:46 pm

    Hey Angie, I’m glad things are going better. Yes, we women are certainly eclectic! As for finding a church. When I decided to try years ago. I went to a bunch. A new one every Sunday. And then I took stalk. Considered which ones I felt comfortable in, which ones I didn’t. I went back to the ones I liked and then made a decision from there. And don’t worry about falling in with the wrong crowd (another school analogy :)). Sit back and relax. You will connect with those you are comfortable with. Good luck!

  3. Finding Hope permalink*
    August 6, 2009 11:39 pm

    Thanks Carolyn,
    I’ve been looking at a few churches, ruled out a few, but I still have dozens to choose from. We are talking about it, and either way, I’m going. I hope he decides to join me, but I am just at that point that I need this in my life.
    thanks again.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

